All 10 provinces and the Yukon Territory are members of CATRA and have scrap tire programs. Their goal is to divert 100% of used tires from landfill to recycling and create marketable products and value-added end uses. Each member has a website to outline their provincial program and provide information to consumers, industry and government stakeholders.


The Alberta Recycling Management Authority (Alberta Recycling) is a not-for-profit association responsible for managing Alberta’s tire, electronics and paint recycling programs. The organization reports to the Minister of Environment and Sustainable Resource Development, and is run by a Board of Directors representing many stakeholder groups.

British Columbia

Tire Stewardship BC is a not-for-profit society formed to manage BC's tire recycling program. The program collects an Advance Disposal Fee, commonly referred to as an eco-fee, on the sale of every new tire. The fees are used to pay for transporting and recycling BC generated scrap tires, ensuring that the tires are disposed of in environmentally responsible ways instead of ending up in our landfills.


Tire Stewardship Manitoba (TSM) is a not-for-profit organization formed to manage the scrap tire recycling program on behalf of tire retailers in Manitoba. TSM has had its tire stewardship program approved by Manitoba Conservation in accordance with The Tire Stewardship Regulation, 2006.

New Brunswick

Recycle NB was originally established in 1996 as the New Brunswick's Tire Stewardship Board (NBTSB). In May of 2008, it was transformed into a multi-materials agency responsible for the province’s growing list of designated materials. Its Board is comprised of up to 12 directors representing a broad non-industry cross-section of regions throughout the province.

Newfoundland & Labrador

The Multi Materials Stewardship Board (MMSB) is a Crown agency of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, reporting to the Minister of Environment and Conservation. It was established in 1996 to develop, implement and manage waste diversion and recycling programs on a province-wide basis for specific waste streams designated by the government, and is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Minister of Environment and Conservation. The Board is responsible and accountable for the overall business affairs of MMSB.

Nova Scotia

Divert NS, formerly the Resource Recovery Fund Board Inc. (RRFB Nova Scotia) is a non-profit corporation working in partnership with Nova Scotians to improve the province’s environment, economy and quality of life by reducing, reusing, recycling and recovering resources. Recognized globally as an innovator in waste diversion solutions, Divert NS manages a network of 83 independently owned ENVIRO-DEPOT™ locations throughout the province.


eTracks Tire Management Systems is the largest Producer Responsibility Organization (PRO) working on behalf of leading tire manufacturers and auto makers in North America. eTracks will actively work with many service providers to create a sustainable tire management system in the province of Ontario, as the Ontario tire recycling industry transitions to a new Producer led recycling business model. Incorporated by the Tire and Rubber Association of Canada (TRAC), eTracks works with tire manufacturers to responsibly manage and recycle end of life tires (ELTs) to help them meet their legislative obligations under the Ontario Resource Recovery and Circular Economy Act (RRCEA).

Prince Edward Island

Island Waste Management Corporation (IWMC) is a Crown Corporation whose mandate is to develop, implement and operate a waste management system to serve Prince Edward Island. In addition to a full program for waste, compost and recyclables the Corporation is also responsible for the collection and final disposal of all tires in the province.


Created in 1990, the Société québécoise de récupération et de recyclage (RECYC-QUÉBEC) is a Québec government corporation whose mission is to promote, develop and encourage the reduction, reuse, recovery and recycling of containers, packaging, materials and products and their valorization with a view to conserving resources. RECYC-QUÉBEC comes under the authority of the Ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (Québec ministry of Sustainable Development, Environment and the Fight against Climate Change).


The Tire Stewardship of Saskatchewan Inc. (TSS) is the approved program operator for scrap tire management and recycling activities in Saskatchewan.  TSS is a non-profit corporation that was established in June 2017 by the Retail Council of Canada (RCC) and the Western Canada Tire Dealers (WCTD).


On July 21, 2003, the Designated Materials Regulation came into effect in the Yukon. The regulation establishes an advance disposal surcharge to be paid by consumers at the time of acquisition of specific new tires. It also establishes retailer permits governing the sale of new tires and depot permits for the handling of used tires.